The usual suspects, Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus) and Lionel Messi (Barcelona) have been nominated for the Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year prize.
FIFA made the announcements via its social media channels on Wednesday afternoon..”

Others included in the 10-man list are: Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool), Frenkie De Jong (Ajax/Barcelona), Matthijs De Ligt (Ajax/Juventus), Eden Hazard (Chelsea/Real Madrid), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Sadio Mane (Liverpool) and Mohammed Salah (Liverpool).

Real Madrid midfielder, Luka Modric, who is the current holder of the award, has been left out.

Messi and Ronaldo have shared the prize five times apiece over the past decade.

“The winner will be revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards show in Milan on September 23..”